Today’s a big day.

It’s my online yoga-versary, and lucky us: it lands on a full moon day!

Celebrating this day is somewhat bittersweet. Two years ago the world went into a “two-week lockdown” (oh what little we as a world knew then…) and staying safe meant staying away from each other. I followed the social distancing rules, but I didn’t want to fully isolate myself. I knew how to use Zoom, so like many other yoga teachers, I started teaching yoga classes online.

And the rest is herstory – I love that this special day falls in Women’s History Month!

To me, yoga is about connection. Whether you practice regularly or sporadically with me or somewhere else or simply read my emails or posts, it means we’re connecting on some level. I deeply appreciate the chance to share moments of contemplation with you, on the mat, in your inbox, or on your device.

When you step on your mat to practice yoga or drop into the present moment, the world becomes a more calm and peaceful place. There’s a lot out there vying for our time and attention and the simple act of being here and present together means so much to me.

So how are we going to celebrate two years together? I’ll leave that up to you, but here are my plans if you need some inspiration:

  • take rest from practice today in observation of the moon day
  • raise a beverage of choice and sip with satisfaction
  • reflect on what has been and dream about what could come next
  • ok I’ll probably listen to 22 by Taylor Swift too (to get in the two mood!)

If you want more yoga in your life, we practice every Thursday at these times:

What: Ashtanga Yoga Mysore (self-guided with teacher feedback) on Zoom

When: Every Thursday:

  • Pacific USA: 9-10:15 AM
  • Mountain USA: 10-11:15 AM
  • Central USA: 11-12:15 PM
  • Eastern USA: 12-1:15 PM
  • Western Europe: 5-6:15 PM
  • Central Europe: 6-7:15 PM

Hope to see you soon on your mat!

For practice inspiration and connection, follow me on IG: @racheldrummondyoga

XO,

Rachel

Rachel Drummond is a student and teacher of Ashtanga Yoga, handstand enthusiast, and writer. She enjoys practicing and teaching yoga all over the world and writing about how to bring yoga to life off the mat through contemplative physical practices.

Don't leave empty-handed!

Don't leave empty-handed!

 

Sign up and get:

Free 15-minute yoga strength drills video for stronger and smoother transitions between postures - even if you're a beginner. 

Your first live online yoga class: free!

Thank you! Please check your inbox and confirm your subscription.